Posted by: noelserrano | February 22, 2007

HONOR YOUR ELDERS

We are slowly witnessing the decaying of the basic needs and support of our Elderly. There was a time in the seemingly distant past when we cared about our parents. We would appreciate what they did for us. We would go out of our way to care for them because we had a deep love and sense of gratitude for all  that they have done for us. This is not the case today. Many of our elderly, now turning 87 years have witnessed the  slow undoing of care and civility from their own children. That is not the world that they deserve. My father lost his second wife, two years ago. The moment that she passed away, I soon  realized that I had to stand in the gap and in the breach to protect my Father from falling  into an abyss of depression and  neglect. He needed to be taken care. I did this because it was the right thing to do. We must instinctively take on the responsibility in caring for our Elders because to neglect them in their hour of need is not only shameful and despicable but immoral. If we, as a society cannot provide the basic care for our aging society, how can we even contemplate  growing old in this  world. The next time you see your parents, hug them and love them and realize that they will be gone one day and you will live on with the choice that you made. Let your consience guide you   to do the right thing for them.


Responses

  1. Hey Noel, just a quick hello. We are all creatures of habit, and i know that even till today there seems to be missing a big peace of your daily todo’s. It will soon get easier, although never forgotten. It’s very important to smother your self in family, and close friends especially after a love’d one has departed. When I sit to talk with my kids, or hold my Grand children. Thats when I feel closest to our Father. YES, He was right!! Well I wanted to say hi, and say thank you for all your efforts and involvement. love always your brother, Irving………GOD BLESS.

  2. Thanks, My Brother,

    It has been tough but God gives the strength and consolation to press on. Stay in touch and take care, God Bless,
    Love , Your Brother,
    Noel


Leave a comment

Categories